This website uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

South America timezones by countries

On this page you find a list of all countries in South America classified by timezones based on the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC). UTC is equivalent to the Greenwich Mean Time (GMT).

Please note that in some countries in South America Daylight Saving Time (DST), also sometimes referrred to as "Summer time" may be in effect. During Daylight Saving Time clocks are adjusted forward one hour near the start of spring and are adjusted backward in autumn.

All times shown on this page are local standard times in the capital of the respective country without DST adjustment. Countries in South America with current DST are marked with [+1]. You will find further information on DST in any specific country under the following country links.

You can sort the list of timezones in South America by timezones.

South America timezones listed by countries
CountryTimezoneLocal time
Argentina America/Argentina/Buenos_Aires (UTC GMT -3.0)Wed, 22 Nov 2017 - 7:51am
Bolivia America/La_Paz (UTC GMT -4.0)Wed, 22 Nov 2017 - 6:51am
Brazil America/Sao_Paulo (UTC GMT -2.0)Wed, 22 Nov 2017 - 8:51am[+1]
Chile America/Santiago (UTC GMT -3.0)Wed, 22 Nov 2017 - 7:51am[+1]
Colombia America/Bogota (UTC GMT -5.0)Wed, 22 Nov 2017 - 5:51am
Ecuador America/Guayaquil (UTC GMT -5.0)Wed, 22 Nov 2017 - 5:51am
Falkland Islands Atlantic/Stanley (UTC GMT -3.0)Wed, 22 Nov 2017 - 7:51am
French Guiana America/Cayenne (UTC GMT -3.0)Wed, 22 Nov 2017 - 7:51am
Guyana America/Guyana (UTC GMT -4.0)Wed, 22 Nov 2017 - 6:51am
Paraguay America/Asuncion (UTC GMT -3.0)Wed, 22 Nov 2017 - 7:51am[+1]
Peru America/Lima (UTC GMT -5.0)Wed, 22 Nov 2017 - 5:51am
Suriname America/Paramaribo (UTC GMT -3.0)Wed, 22 Nov 2017 - 7:51am
Uruguay America/Montevideo (UTC GMT -3.0)Wed, 22 Nov 2017 - 7:51am
Venezuela America/Caracas (UTC GMT -4.5)Wed, 22 Nov 2017 - 6:21am