This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Countries in South America

There are 14 countries and territories in South America.

You can sort the countries in South America alphabeticallyby country codesby areaby populationby capitals

Please click on a country name for more information on this country.

All countries in South America
EcuadorEC283,560.0 km214,790,60852.2Quito
ColombiaCO1,138,910.0 km247,790,00042.0Bogota
VenezuelaVE912,050.0 km227,223,22829.8Caracas
BrazilBR8,511,965.0 km2201,103,33023.6Brasilia
PeruPE1,285,220.0 km229,907,00323.3Lima
ChileCL756,950.0 km216,746,49122.1Santiago
UruguayUY176,220.0 km23,477,00019.7Montevideo
ParaguayPY406,750.0 km26,375,83015.7Asuncion
ArgentinaAR2,766,890.0 km241,343,20114.9Buenos Aires
BoliviaBO1,098,580.0 km29,947,4189.1Sucre
GuyanaGY214,970.0 km2748,4863.5Georgetown
SurinameSR163,270.0 km2492,8293.0Paramaribo
French Guiana*GF91,000.0 km2195,5062.1Cayenne
Falkland Islands*FK12,173.0 km22,6380.2Stanley
Total: 14--400,143,568Ø 18.7-

There are 12 independent countries and 2 territories or political entities in South America.

*) The territories or political entities are marked with *. Please check the respective country pages for further details.

View all countries in the world.